Vintage Recipes

Vintage Food: SPAM Wagon Wheel

Image via Pinterest

Spam. When I hear the word images of Monty Python pop into my head. I’ve never had it, and have never considered it an option until I started blogging vintage recipes. 

Spam was a huge deal back in the day, it’s still big in Hawaii, but I just don’t understand the big appeal of a pale pink canned meat. 

One day, I was searching Pinterest for vintage recipes and I came across one for a fancy looking savory pie called the Spam Wagon Wheel. It was a Pillsbury Bake Off recipe, so I thought it would ‘t be too daring to try. 

Well, I tried it. I will make it again, but I won’t be going out of my way to use spam as the meat. 


SPAM Wagon Wheel

A savory quiche-like dish, serves 4-5. Most instructions are direct from the original recipe with my changes in parentheses.

Crust

  • 1 cup AP flour 
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 3 to 4 TBSP cold water
  1. Combine flour and salt in a bowl. 
  2. Cut in shortening. 
  3. Toss with a fork and slowly add water until the dough just starts to form. 
  4. Roll out until 1/2 inch bigger than the outside of a 9inch pie pan. (My pie pan was a bit bigger, 9.5in and I didn’t want the crust to be too thin so I didn’t roll it out thinner and flute the edges) 
  5. (Place in a greased pie pan, and set aside. I’m not risking sticking on a test recipe lol)

Filling

  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 1 can of Spam
  • 1lb can of Veg All, drained (Veg All is a can of mixed veggies that includes carrots, potatoes, lima beans, etc. The can I found was 15 oz)
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • 1 cup evaporated milk (I used a small 5oz can)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 TBSP flour
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1/4tsp paprika
  • (Add more seasonings to taste. I added about 1/4 tsp pepper but it needed more herbs)
  1. Steam onions with butter over low heat for 10 minutes. 
  2. Cut spam into 5 1/4in slices, set aside. Dice remaining spam into bite sized cubes. 
  3. Add spam, onions and remaining ingredients into a bow and mix. 
  4. Pour the filming into the pie crust. 
  5. Cut the Spam slices diagonally and arrange on top of the filling. 
  6. Bake at 400 degrees F for 35-45 minutes. Cool for 10 minites before serving. 
  7. (Serve with a steamed veggie. I thought it would be enough as is, but I was missing something fresh.)


My notes: If you want to use Spam, that’s fine, but I would recommend crisping up the diced Spam before adding it to the filling. I liked the recipe, the crust was wonderfully flakey and it’s had the feel of a frittata. I will, however, be using ground turkey and sautéed fresh veggies in the future when I make this again. 

Leave a Reply

