Uncategorized

Make it: Mixer Bowl Cover

If you bake often, like me, you’ve probably run into the problem of covering your bowl to let it rise. It’s a problem because when I bake I tend to get messy, my apron is covered in flour, I have a towel that I am using to wipe up any spills as I go, and sometimes there aren’t any extra clean towels to cover my dough while it rises.

I admit it. I have used a dirty towel to cover my dough before. It was dirty from flour and vanilla, but still makes me a little grossed out. That’s where a bowl cover comes in!

When I made this bowl cover, I made it so it will cover down the side a bit so if my dough rises over the rim, the cover won’t pop off and look like it’s wearing a super cute shower cap. 

Because it’s a bit bigger than the bowl’s circumference, it’ll fit on mixers with tilting heads while on the mixer to keep the bowl and paddles clean between uses. 

Here’s how I made it~

Materials

  • 1/2 yard of fabric, I used a remnant I bought a while back. You may be able to use a fat quarter here depending on the size of your bowl. 
  • Elastic
  • Marking pencil
  • Safety pin
  • Measuring tape
  • Sewing machine
  • Iron
  • Pins

Let’s sew!

  1. Lay out your fabric and place your bowl upside down and trace a circle 2 inches lager than the bowl around it. I used the piece of cardboard from a pack of bias tape to make my circle and marked the fabric every few inches. 
  2. Cut out your circle and iron any wrinkles out.
  3. Finishe the edges with a surger or by stitching a small zig zag stich around the edge. Stich close to the edge, but not over the edge. 
  4. Trim any excess fabric on the outer edge. 
  5. Fold the edge in about an inch and press every few inches with the tip of your iron. Making sure it is big enough to accomidate the elastic. 
  6. Pin the folds the appear when you fold the sides in. Sewing in a circle can be tricky! 
  7. Your piece will look like this after being pinned. 
  8. Make sure it will fit your bowl! 
  9. Sew around the circle along the zig zag stitch. Leave a 2 inch gap between your start and end point so you have room to thread the elastic through. You can sew over horizontally placed pins if you go slowly. 
  10. Put a pin through the end of your elastic and thread it through the channel you just created around your circle. 
  11. I didn’t put a measurement for the elastic on purpose. I like to cut my elastic after I size it on whatever I am making to make sure the fit is correct and so I don’t lose the end of ny elastic in the channel and have to rethread it. 
  12. When it fits snugly, pin the elastic, cut it and sew the living daylights out of it. 
  13. Trim your threads, and pin the elastic in place next to the opening to prevent sewing it down while sewing the opening closed. Reinforce any folds that may be loose if needed. 
  14. Trim your thread ends and you’re done! It’ll look like a super cute, but very impractical shower cap when you finish. 

    Leave a Reply

    